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MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
LICENSING AND REGISTRATION SERVICE 

INSTRUCTIONS – MECHANICS LIEN PROCESS – VESSELS 
 

 
Under Maryland Code Annotated, Commercial Law Article (“CL”), Section §16-201 et 
seq.), a vessel lien is created when (a) the lienor (with the consent of the owner) has 
provided services or materials for that vessel, (b) the charges are due and unpaid for  
30 days, and (c) lienor has possession of the vessel.   
 
Services and materials are defined as wet or dry wharfage, repair, rebuilding, 
maintenance, storage, parts or accessories. 
 
If vessel owner disputes any part of the charge for which the lien is claimed, appropriate 
judicial proceedings may be instituted.  This stays execution under the lien until a final 
judicial determination.  Provisions to reclaim vessel pending judicial resolution are 
detailed in CL§16-206(b). 
 
A vessel that is currently United States Coast Guard (USCG) Documented with an 
unsatisfied lien, must follow USCG process to claim ownership. Ownership transfer and 
release of a mortgage must be authorized by USCG before Maryland title can be 
issued.     
 
 
Samples of the following are attached: 
 

 Newspaper ad 
 Notice of Sale 

 
 

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION 
 
1.  Vessel identification 

 
 Vessel ownership  
  Unregistered – include detailed explanation of research efforts 
  Registered -- vessel ownership record from state of current registration 
  Documented – abstract of title 
   
 Photograph or pencil rubbing of hull identification number 
 
 Photograph of vessel, showing current vessel registration # and any other 

identifying markings 
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2.  Certificate of Publication  
 
 Attach copy of ad with vessel circled or underlined 
 Published once a week for the 2 weeks immediately preceding sale 
 Newspaper of general circulation in the county where sale is held 
 14 days must elapse between 1st published notice and sale date 
 Ad must state time, date, place and terms of sale (lien amount must be included 

if there is a minimum bid or reserve) 
 Minimum bid or reserve cannot exceed total charges 
 Sale must be held at a public location between 10:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. 
 Ad must include at least the state registration # or USCG documentation # and 

year, make and length  
 
3.  Notifications  

 
 Notice should restate information in the published ad (date, place, time, terms) 
 Notice must be mailed to all owners – separate mailing to husband and to wife 
 Auction date must be consistent in all notices and the published ad 
 Charges creating the lien should be listed separate from the costs of sale 
 Invoices submitted as proof of indebtedness must equal charges creating the lien 
 

At least 10 days before sale, mail notice (registered or certified, return receipt requested 
and by regular mail) to:  
 Owner at address of record and any other address in your files 
  If the address of both the owner and the person who incurred the charges  
  is unknown and cannot be reasonably ascertained, the notice is to be sent 
  to “General Delivery” at the post office of the city where the business of  
  the lienor is located. 
 Customer (when different from owner)  
 Lienholder at address of record (when record indicates an outstanding lien)   
 

If lienholder mailing is returned undeliverable, and lienholder is a financial institution, 
search the FDIC “Bank Find” website to find the successor bank, and resend the notice.  
http://www4.fdic.gov/IDASP/main_bankfind.asp  This second lienholder mailing will not 
invalidate any timelines in the original notices; but the Department will not process the 
mechanics lien application until 30 days after second lienholder notice has been mailed.   
 
Successful delivery -- submit the signed USPS Form 3811 (green card) or mailing 
receipt.  Confirmation of delivery from the USPS website tracking system is acceptable. 
 
If returned undelivered -- submit the unopened returned envelope. 
If returned by the U.S. Postal Service marked “deceased”, additional notifications may 
be required. 

http://www4.fdic.gov/IDASP/main_bankfind.asp
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4.  Proof of indebtedness 
 
Invoice Affidavit must be completed in full and signed by Lienor.   
 
 Charges must be due and unpaid for at least 30 days 
 Charges cannot include services provided after date of notice 
 Must reflect charges shown in Notice of Sale  

 
Finance charges and/or interest can be included in total amount, but must be listed 
separately.  
 
5.  Evidence of Sale 
 
Certified Bill of Sale must include amount, date, seller and purchaser. 
When “no bidders”, include auctioneer’s certification under penalty of perjury. 
   
6.  DNR Form B-240 
 
Date of sale = “Date of Purchase” 
Enter current vessel registration number in “USED VESSELS Current Registration #” 
Purchaser must sign and date (include Power of Attorney when signing on their behalf). 
 
7.  Payment -- payable to “MD DNR”  
 
5% vessel excise tax on sale amount (or total charges when  no bidders) 
 Licensed MD boat dealers are exempt from vessel excise tax when lienor.   
 Vessel must be titled in the name of the dealer as shown in Department records.  
 Enter “Dlr # 123” on Form B-240 (Section 5 and the vessel excise tax box in 
 Section 4) and on the Mechanic’s Lien Checklist.   
 
$2 title fee 
 
$24 biennial registration (optional) 
 
 
8.  Mechanic’s Lien Checklist – top portion completed by lienor 
 
9.  Power of Attorney (when applicable) 
 

 
 



DNR B-111 (Rev 6/19)  Page 4 of 5 

DISTRIBUTION OF SALE PROCEEDS 
 

When lienholder was notified within 45 days of the creation of the lien: 
 

1st -- Expenses of giving notice and holding the sale 
2nd -- Storage fees of the third party holder 
3rd -- Amount of the lien claimed exclusive of any storage fees 
4th -- Purchase money security interest 
5th -- Any remaining secured parties of record 
6th – Any remaining balance to the owner of the property 
 

CL§16-203(b) … within 45 days after the creation of the lien… lienor shall send notice 
of the lien by registered or certified mail to all holders of perfected security interests in 
the property who are known to the lienor or can be identified through a search of the 
public records where filings are made to perfect security interests in the property… 
 
CL§16-202(b)(2) …a lien is created under this subsection when any charges giving rise 
to the lien are incurred  
 
When lienholder was NOT notified pursuant to CL§16-203(b): 
 
 1st – Purchase money security interest 
 2nd – All additional holders of perfected security interest in the property 
 3rd – Expenses of giving notice and holding the sale 
 4th -- Storage fees of the third party holder 
 5th -- Amount of the lien claimed exclusive of any storage fees 
 6th – Any remaining secured parties of record 
 7th -- Any remaining balance to the owner of the property 
 
 

SAMPLE NEWSPAPER AD 
 

YOUR NAME will sell at public auction on DATE at TIME at LOCATION the following 
vessel in satisfaction of a mechanics lien for charges that have remained unpaid for 
more than 30 days.  Terms: cash or certified funds.  Lienor reserves the right to bid.   

 
State registration # or USCG documentation #, Year, make, length 
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Sample  
NOTICE OF MECHANICS LIEN SALE 

 
 

OWNER  CUSTOMER  
Name  Name  

Address  Address  

City/State Zip  City/State/Zip  

    
LIENHOLDER  LIENOR  

Name  Name  

Address  Address  

City/State/Zip  City/State/Zip  

  Telephone  
 
 
 Charges for services or materials provided $     
 
 Costs of sale           + $     
 
 Total charges          =  $     
 
 
YOUR NAME will sell at public auction on DATE at TIME at LOCATION the following 
vessel in satisfaction of a mechanics lien for charges that have remained unpaid for 
more than 30 days.  Terms: cash or certified funds.  Lienor reserves the right to bid.   
 

State registration # or USCG documentation #, Year, make, length 
 

You have the right to satisfy the mechanics lien debt in full by the auction date by 
contacting YOUR NAME.   
 
If you dispute the charges, you may initiate judicial proceedings pursuant to CL§16-206 
the Annotated Code of Maryland, Commercial Law Article, which will stay execution of 
the mechanics lien.  
 
 
                
                Date    Lienor’s Signature 
 
             
      Name of Signature (printed) 
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