DNR Boards & Commissions

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is one of 18 principal departments of Maryland State Government. As an executive agency, DNR is headed by the Secretary of Natural Resources, who is appointed by and reports directly to the Governor.

As is the case in many state agencies, the Governor, DNR, and state government as a whole benefit from the expertise of private citizens and public servants through a series of statutory boards and commissions authorized by the Governor or General Assembly. At the discretion of the Secretary, additional ad hoc committees may be appointed to participate in policy discussions.

These special boards are assigned specific responsibilities or areas of inquiry, and are sometimes mandated to complete their work by a prescribed date. In assisting the Governor and departmental leadership, they may receive staffing or other administrative support from the department.

The following is an alphabetized list of DNR’s currently authorized boards and commissions that include public members, and information on membership and areas of responsibility. Click on the board that interests you to obtain more details about the board and to express interest in participating. Or you may wish to view the boards and commissions organized by subject category.

A statewide list of commissions, committees, task forces and advisory boards is available at: http://www.mdarchives.state.md.us/msa/mdmanual/26excom/html/00list.html
DNR Home
About DNR Home