Upcoming Meetings

Joint Meetings of the Coast Smart Council and the Adaptation & Response Working Group are scheduled for:

1:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.

  • Monday, March 12, 1-4 p.m.
  • Monday, May 7, 1-4 p.m.
  • Monday, July 30, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.
  • Monday, December 3, 1-4 p.m.

Place: DNR Tawes Building, Conference Room C-1
580 Taylor Avenue, Annapolis, MD 21401

Coast Smart Council Meeting - 1-2 p.m.
Adaptation & Response Working Group - 2-4 p.m.


Joe Abe
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
Chesapeake and Coastal Service
580 Taylor Ave., E-2
Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone: 410.260.8740
Email: joseph.abe@maryland.gov

Maryland CoastSmart Council Members

Chair: Mark J. Belton, Secretary
Maryland Department of Natural Resources

Members (as of 10/17/18):

  • Michael Bayer, AICP, Manager, Infrastructure Planning, Maryland Department of Planning
  • Sepehr Baharlou, P.E., Principal BayLand Consultants & Designers, Inc.
  • Dr. Peter Goodwin, President University of Maryland, Center for Environmental Science
  • Susan Gore, Budget Analyst Office of Capital Budgeting, Maryland Department of Budget and Management
  • Gary Setzer, Advisor for Office of the Secretary Maryland Department of the Environment
  • Chris Elcock, Associate Principal GWWO Inc., Architects
  • Kevin Brown, Chief Building Official and Flood Plain Administrator Town of Ocean City
  • Dr. Gerry E. Galloway, Jr., P.E., Professor University of Maryland, College Park
  • Sandy Hertz, Assistant Director Office of Environment, Maryland Department of Transportation
  • Richard Higgins, Policy Planning & Inter-Agency Coordination Manager, Maryland Department of Commerce
  • John Brush, P.E., Capital Projects Manager, Office of Facility Planning, Maryland Department of General Services
  • Jaleesa Tate, Disaster Risk Reduction, State Hazard Mitigation Officer, Maryland Emergency Management Agency
  • Kate Charbonneau, Executive Director Maryland Critical Area Commission
  • Mary Phillips, Zoning Specialist Planning and Zoning, Somerset County
  • Nancy Kopp, Treasurer State of Maryland