Contact Us

Questions?

... or information about the Critical Area Program or questions relating to State oversight of local programs, e-mail Lisa.Hoerger@maryland.gov or call 410-260-3478.

 CAC logo

Critical Area Commission
1804 West Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Telephone:410-260-3460
Fax:410-974-5338

Maryland Critical Area Commission Contacts

If you have general questions about the Critical Area Law and Criteria click here.

For policy, regulatory or mapping issues click here.

For issues related to the Buffer, other Habitat Protection Areas, or conservation and mitigation practices click here.

For more specific questions, please select from the list of counties in order to direct you to the appropriate staff person.

Map of Maryland counties. 

Anne Arundel County Baltimore City Baltimore County
Calvert County Caroline County Cecil County
Charles County Dorchester County Harford County
Kent County Prince George's County Queen Anne's County
Somerset County St. Mary's County Talbot County
Wicomico County Worcester County

Kate Charbonneau
Executive Director

General Questions on the Critical Area Law and Criteria.

E-mail: Katherine.Charbonneau@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3475


Lisa Hoerger
Policy Coordinator

Coordinates among the Commission, State government, local governments and various stakeholders pertaining to the regulations and policies of the Commission.  Also coordinates the remapping of the 1,000-foot Critical Area boundary. 

Jurisdictions:

Department of Defense
Harford County

Aberdeen
Havre de Grace

E-mail: Lisa.Hoerger@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3478


Claudia Jones
Science Advisor

Program and policy issues regarding Habitat Protection Areas, wetlands streams and concerns relating to habitat protection and water quality. Specific questions about conservation, protective easements, and mitigation.

Jurisdictions:

Baltimore County
Worcester County
Snow Hill
Pocomoke City

Email: Claudia.Jones@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3482


Nick Kelly
Regional Program Chief

General Project and Program Questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, etc.

E-mail: Nick.Kelly@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3483


Charlotte Shearin
Regional Program Chief

General project and program questions including site plans, subdivisions, variances, violations, amendments to local programs, growth allocations, Critical Area map issues, etc.

Jurisdictions:

Dorchester County
Cambridge
Secretary
Vienna

E-mail: Charlotte.Shearin@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3480


Jennifer Esposito
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:

Charles County
Indian Head
Maryland Port Administration
Talbot County

Easton
Oxford
St. Michaels
Wicomico County
Salisbury
Fruitland
Mardela Springs
Sharptown

Email: jennifer.esposito@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3468


Arthur Crum
Environmental Specialist

Shore Erosion Control Reviews

E-mail: Arthur.Crum@maryland.gov
410-260-3466


Alex DeWeese
Natural Resources Planner

Researches issues related to modified buffer areas, sea-level rise, and redevelopment.

Jurisdictions:

Baltimore City
Calvert County

Chesapeake Beach
North Beach
Cecil County
Charlestown
Chesapeake City
Elkton
North East
Perryville
Port Deposit
Kent County
Betterton
Chestertown
Millington
Rock Hall

E-mail: Alexandra.Deweese@maryland.gov
410-260-3479


Tay Harris

Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:

Annapolis
Anne Arundel County

Highland Beach
Ocean City
Caroline County

Denton
Federalsburg
Greensboro
Hillsboro

E-mail: Tay.Harris@maryland.gov
410-260-3481


Julie Roberts
Natural Resources Planner

Jurisdictions:

Prince George’s County
MNCPPC
WSSC
St. Mary’s County

Greenwell State Park
Leondardtown
St. Mary’s College
Historic St. Mary’s City

Queen Anne’s County

Centreville
Church Hill
Queen Anne
Queenstown
Somerset County

Crisfield
Princess Anne    

E-mail: Julie.Roberts@maryland.gov
Phone: 410-260-3476

Back to Top