DNR Gets Legislative Approval for Recreational Crab Licenses
ANNAPOLIS — The Maryland DNR Fisheries Service recently received approval from the Joint Administrative, Executive & Legislative Review Committee to recreate the Chesapeake Bay recreational crabbing license and catch limits in regulation. The former legal mechanism for issuing recreational crabbing licenses was provided for in law; the new approval allows DNR to do the same thing. The new regulations took effect April 1.
The new regulations are unchanged from last year. In summary, costs remain at $5 per Maryland resident; $10 for a non-resident; $2 with a Bay sport fishing license and $15 for a boat license. The $40 Chesapeake Bay Pleasure Boat Sport Fishing License is also good for crabbing. Trotline use requires a license and the trotline is limited to 1200 feet. No more than 10 collapsible crab traps can be used without a license. Unlicensed crabbers cannot catch more than two dozen hard crabs or one dozen peelers or soft crabs. Summaries of other provisions of the license are available where crabbing licenses are sold or on the DNR web site. There is one minor change from last year. The peeler and soft crab recreational catch limit for 2 or more licensed individuals on a non-licensed boat was changed from 4 dozen peelers or soft crabs to 2 dozen peelers or soft crabs to make it consistent with the rest of the limits.
The recreational licenses are available starting yesterday.
Posted April 2, 2004