Scales and Tales Volunteer Opportunities

You can volunteer with Scales and Tales, an environmental education program that uses live animals native to the state of Maryland, and help educate thousands of school children statewide. Some volunteer opportunities include helping with feeding the animals, cleaning the aviaries, and helping with displays and programs. Volunteers are also needed during the Maryland State Fair and for other special events.

Volunteers must complete a Scales & Tales training session before working with or around the animals.

A volunteer holds an owl at the State Fair

Scales and Tales Aviaries

The six locations within the Maryland Park Service listed below have Scales & Tales aviaries. If you are interested in volunteering with Scales & Tales, please contact the Volunteer Coordinator at the aviary nearest you to determine if there are any current opportunities.

Pocomoke River State Park (located in Worcester County)
Ranger Shawn Johnson
410-632-2566
E-mail: scjohnson@dnr.state.md.us

Tuckahoe State Park (located in Caroline County)
Ranger Jessica Conley
410-820-1668
E-mail: jconley@dnr.state.md.us

Soldiers Delight NEA (Patapsco Valley State Park) (located in Baltimore County)
Maegan Cooper
410-465-3287
E-mail: macooper@dnr.state.md.us

Cunningham Falls State Park (located in Frederick County)
Alicia Norris
301-271-9179
E-mail: anorris@dnr.state.md.us

Rocky Gap State Park (located in Allegany County)
Ranger Julia Wieners
301-722-1480
E-mail: jwieners@dnr.state.md.us

Deep Creek Lake State Park (located in Garrett County)
Caroline Blizzard
301-387-7067
E-mail: cblizzard@dnr.state.md.us