Deer in Spring Landscape

Deer Management Permit


Maryland landowners or agricultural lessees that are experiencing severe economic loss from deer to commercially grown crops (includes row crops, truck crops, pasture, nursery stock, orchards and certain tree plantings) may be eligible to receive a Deer Management Permit (DMP). DMP’s allow the permittee to remove deer from the designated property outside the established deer hunting seasons and/or deer bag limits. These permits are issued by the Wildlife and Heritage Service.

The staff person assigned to review your request for eligibility will consider the type, extent and severity of damage; time of year; and deer population levels for your locale when determining if a DMP is an appropriate solution for your property. The General Conditions for Deer Management Permits contains more details on the provisions of these permits.

Deer Damaage Permit Coordinators by County

For more information, please contact the staff person who serves your County.

County

Staff Person

Office Phone

E-Mail

Allegany County Rande Brown: 301-777-2136 Rande.Brown@maryland.gov
Anne Arundel County Pete Bendel: 410-260-8547 Peter.Bendel@maryland.gov
Baltimore County Brent Evans: 443-786-3656 Brent.Evans@maryland.gov
Calvert County Pete Bendel: 410-260-8547 Peter.Bendel@maryland.gov
Caroline County Rick Walls: 410-928-3650 Richard.Walls@maryland.gov
Carroll County Tom Decker: 301-258-7308 Thomas.Decker@maryland.gov
Cecil County Brent Evans: 443-786-3656 Brent.Evans@maryland.gov
Charles County Nick Sagwitz: 301-743-5161 Nicholas.Sagwitz@maryland.gov
Dorchester County Wade Bradford: 410-219-8418 Wade.Bradford@maryland.gov
Frederick County Clarissa Harris: 301-777-2136 Clarissa.Harris1@maryland.gov
Garrett County Rob Harvey: 301-334-4255 Rob.Harvey@maryland.gov
Harford County Brent Evans: 443-786-3656 Brent.Evans@maryland.gov
Howard County Tom Decker: 301-258-7308 Thomas.Decker@maryland.gov
Kent County Rick Walls: 410-928-3650 Richard.Walls@maryland.gov
Montgomery County Tom Decker: 301-258-7308 Thomas.Decker@maryland.gov
Prince George's County  Nick Sagwitz:   301-743-5161 Nicholas.Sagwitz@maryland.gov
Queen Anne's County Rick Walls: 410-928-3650 Richard.Walls@maryland.gov
St. Mary's County Pete Bendel: 410-260-8547 Peter.Bendel@maryland.gov
Somerset County Wade Bradford: 410-219-8418 Wade.Bradford@maryland.gov
Talbot County Rick Walls: 410-928-3650 Richard.Walls@maryland.gov
Washington County Clarissa Harris: 301-777-2136 Clarissa.Harris1@maryland.gov
Wicomico County Wade Bradford: 410-219-8418 Wade.Bradford@maryland.gov
Worcester County Wade Bradford: 410-219-8418 Wade.Bradford@maryland.gov