Deer in Spring Landscape

Central Region
Public Hunting Lands

Buck at woods edge, istock 3384031

The Central Region includes Baltimore, Carroll, Cecil, Harford, Howard and Montgomery Counties.

To Apply for the free Central Region Public Hunting Permit click here.

To view Central Region available reservations
for public hunting areas click here.

Wildlife Management Areas

  • Avondale WMA
  • Dierssen WMA
  • Earleville WMA
  • Grove Farm WMA
  • Gwynnbrook WMA
  • Hugg-Thomas WMA
  • McKee-Beshers WMA
  • Old Bohemia WMA
  • Strider WMA
  • Managed Hunting Areas (MHA's)

  • Bethel MHA
  • Court House Point MHA
  • Elk Forest MHA
  • Grove Neck MHA
  • Schaeffer Farm MHA
  • Stemmers Run MHA
  • Welch Point MHA
  • Cooperative Wildlife Management Areas (CWMA's)*

  • Cherrington CWMA
  • Hanover Watershed CWMA
  • Hahn CWMA
  • Liberty Reservoir CWMA
  • Loch Raven Reservoir CWMA
  • Maring CWMA
  • Prettyboy Reservoir CWMA
  • Sawmill CWMA
  • Speigel CWMA
  • Stoney Demonstration Forest
  • Woodbrook CWMA
  • Note: Slacks CWMA and Raincliffe CWMA have been removed from the Central Region Managed Hunt Program by the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services and Maryland Police and Correctional Commission and will not be open for public hunting for the 2014-2015 season. Also, Farver CWMA has been removed from the Program by Carroll County and will not be open for public hunting.

    *Cooperative Wildlife Management Areas, or CWMA’s, are properties where DNR does not own the land, but has an agreement with the landowner to manage the public access. Access may be restricted to certain times of the year so you should contact the appropriate DNR office to learn more about a CWMA you intend to visit.

    Public Waterfowl Hunting Reservation System
    for Elk Neck, Gunpowder and Susquehanna State Parks

    Click here for Soldiers Delight Natural Environment Area Hunting

    Click here for C&D Canal Lands Non-Hunting Permit